Penguin Readers Starter Level: The Moor Stones (ELT Graded Reader)

Fiona Mackenzie

About the book

Penguin Readers is an ELT graded reader series for learners of English as a foreign language. With carefully adapted text, new illustrations and language learning exercises, the print edition also includes instructions to access supporting material online.

Titles include popular classics, exciting contemporary fiction, and thought-provoking non-fiction, introducing language learners to bestselling authors and compelling content.

The eight levels of Penguin Readers follow the Common European Framework of Reference for language learning (CEFR). Exercises at the back of each Reader help language learners to practise grammar, vocabulary, and key exam skills. Before, during and after-reading questions test readers' story comprehension and develop vocabulary.

Visit the Penguin Readers website
Exclusively with the print edition, readers can unlock online resources including a digital book, audio edition, lesson plans and answer keys.

Mia and Beth travel from New Zealand to Whitby, England. They stay with Sheila and Jack at Baysdale Farm Bed and Breakfast. There, Mia reads the story of the Moor Stones, and Beth goes for a walk in the rain . . .

Publication Date
06 May 2021


Book Type
Paperback / softback


Penguin Readers Starter Level: The Moor Stones (ELT Graded Reader) - Jacket

Available to buy

Get the app today

Download our companion app from the App Store or Google Play.