Penguin Readers Level 5: Boys Don't Cry (ELT Graded Reader)

Malorie Blackman

About the book

Penguin Readers is an ELT graded reader series, for teenagers and young adults learning English as a foreign language.
· Carefully adapted text.
· Accompanying audio with the print edition, accessed securely online.
· The series includes popular classics, bestselling modern fiction, and thought-provoking non-fiction.
· The eight levels of Penguin Readers are mapped to the CEFR, and Lexile measured.
· Beautiful new illustrations for levels 2 to 6. Starter and level 1 titles in graphic novel format, for beginner learners.
· Language practice exercises in every book, additional activities and lesson plans online.
· Each book contains a glossary, with definitions of key vocabulary.
· A digital version accompanies the print edition, available securely online.
· Visit the Penguin Readers website for more information.
· Boys Don't Cry, a Level 5 Reader, is B1 in the CEFR framework.
· The Level 5 text is made up of sentences with up to four clauses, introducing present perfect continuous, past perfect, reported speech and second conditional.

Seventeen-year-old Dante is waiting for his exam results. If they are good, he'll go to university. But Dante's plans have to change when he hears that he is the father of a baby girl. With the help of his father and brother, Dante must learn how to be a single father.

Publication Date


Book Type
Paperback / softback


Get the app today

Download our companion app from the App Store or Google Play.